Saturday Night Tiffin: Vindaloo

I decided to make some vindaloo or Goan pork with potatoes..

For the marinade:
cumin seeds (1 tsp)
cloves (3)
coriander seeds (2tsp)
brown mustard seed (1 tsp).
I ground them up in my trusty garage-sale coffee grinder. I make sure I never grind coffee in this grinder..

I put the following into a small food processor and ground it into a paste:

Chopped onions (1 cup),  1″  of ginger (peeled & chopped)  5 cloves garlic (chopped), 1 tsp of chile powder, 1/2 tsp paprika.

Adding  2 tbs of red wine vinegar, 3/4 tsp of salt, & 1/s tsp of turmeric, I made a paste  of which 2 tbs was rubbed on 1 1/4 lbs of cubed boneless pork.

Vindaloo spices
Vindaloo spices
Veg for vindaloo

Veg for vindaloo

The pork was then allowed to rest for at least 30 minutes in the fridge.

Pork for vindaloo

30 minutes (or more) having passed, I  got a heavy  lidded pan (a cast iron dutch oven) and put 3 tbs canola oil in it and got it hot. I then added another 1 tsp of brown mustard seeds and when they began to pop, I added the rest of the vindaloo paste. I cooked this until it started to brown.

I then added the pork and browned it; after which I added 12 oz. or cubed potatoes and put in 2 cups of  fluid (1 c water/ 1 c white wine). I brought this to a boil, covered it, reduced it to  a simmer and allowed it to cook for 50 minutes or so.

in the dutch oven

lovely simmering vindaloo

This was served with rice and a cucumber and tomato salad. It was quite tasty.

Leave a Reply

