Okra

No one seems to want to talk about okra.  Some of you don’t even talk about food, in the main. I’m making Indian style fried okra tonight. I found some nice okra at the Carytown Krogers. I just want you to consider okra. A fine vegetable.

Chopped okra

Chopped okra in a sieve

Okra in a cast iron skillet

Okra in a cast iron skillet

This recipe has whole cumin, onion, ground coriander, turmeric, chile powder, okra/bhindi, tomato  & salt. We ate it with brown rice and a mix of massor dal & moong dal.

I once had a cat named Okra back in Texas. Her brother was named Velcro, for obvious reasons.

7 responses to “Okra

  1. Okra! Absolutley!
    Fried.
    Boiled.
    In Gumbo.
    Raw right off the stalk.

    Suated whole with Gorem Masala…
    Yeah.

  2. I love okra cooked any possible way…it’s a bit challenging to grow up here but I’m going to try again this year and see how it goes…My Okie grandma used to make the best cornmeal fried okra ever!

  3. Don’t forget pickled–my favorite, next to fried. It grows good here. Lovely flowers that look like hibiscus and the more pods you cut the more flowers you get and that makes more pods to cut! My kind of gardening.

    • Okra, hibiscus, Rose of Sharon & cotton are all in the mallow family (Malvaceae sp?).

      Oona likes pickled okra, too.

      I used to work at a plant nursery in Austin and every spring this African-American gentleman would come by and ask us if we had “Okry & maneuver” for his vegetable garden. We sure did!

  4. In some related W. African languages, it is known as “gumbo,” and my favorite way of eating this gem is stewed to mucillage with sausage, shrimp, chicken, tomatoes, capsicum, onion, and a deep brown silky-smooth roux.

Leave a Reply

