Canned Biscuits are awful!

Canned biscuits are a joke… come on,  are y’all that cooking-impaired? And this did not come out of Men’s Health or Cooking Lite. What ever happened to the oral tradition? Didn’t yer Mamas teach you nothin’?

Oona’s biscuit recipe:

Mix together
2c.flour
1/2 tsp salt
4 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp cream of tartar
1/2 tsp sugar
Cut in 1/2 c shortening with pastry blender.

Add 2/3 c of milk, Stir well, turn out on floured board,
knead lightly.
Roll dough 1/2 ” thick, cut in rounds.
Bake on ungreased sheet at 450 F for 10-12 minutes.

Try cooking these in a dutch oven, over coals. With some mustang grape jelly.

8 responses to “Canned Biscuits are awful!

  1. Christy Foster

    Love the video with the recipe! Too bad I can’t tolerate this recipe, being celiac.

  2. Love the video. My grandma taught me how to make biscuits. I made some from approximately this same recipe about a month ago, and taught my younger son.

  3. you are killing me, I don’t think I have any shortening in the house.

  4. I don’t get the canned biscuit thing either, at the least, we’ll use frozen biscuits in a pinch, but they are so easy to make from scratch

  5. I’m right there with ya! If you need a great, from scratch sweet potato biscuit recipe, this one is pretty great http://onecoupleskitchen.blogspot.com/2009/11/sweet-potato-biscuits.html

Leave a Reply

