Fresh Garbanzos

Got some of these yesterday at El Torito #3. My friend Marta was there (she’s the main cook at El Korita and was buying a passel of poblanos for the restaurant) and asked what I could do with them. She said “put them in a caldo or a soup”. So I did.

garbanzos frescas

Shelling garbanzos with a chilaca chile (a green pasilla).

I had some stock from a dish I made last weekend, Chicken with Lemon & pine nuts.  I sauteed a chopped onion and parboiled the garbanzos in salted water. I added a chopped red bell pepper to the onions and softened it. I added the garbanzos, some cooked chicken, then three pints of stock, and some cooked brown rice and simmered this  for about 45 minutes. Here’s how the soup came out. It was great.

soup

Chicken soup with fresh garbanzos.

Leave a Reply

